Bartok, B.: Mikrokosmos 5

Bartok, B.: Mikrokosmos 5

  • £11.50
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

The definitive edition (1987) of the piano teaching classic. Includes an introduction by the composer's son Peter BartÌ_k.
In 1945 Bela Bartok described 'Mikrokosmos' as a cycle of 153 pieces for piano written for 'didactic' purposes, seeing them as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world, or as the 'world of the little ones, the children'. Stylistically Mikrokosmos reflects the influence of folk music on BartÌ_k's life and the rhythms and harmonies employed create music that is as modern today as when the cycle was written.
The 153 pieces making up 'Mikrokosmos' are divided into six volumes arranged according to technical and musical difficulty.

The edition is part of the ABRSM syllabus (grade 7)


  - Foreword to the Definitive Edition
  - Preface by the Composer
  - Chords Together and in Opposition
  - Staccato and Legato (2)
  - Staccato
  - Boating
  - Change of Time
  - New Hungarian Folk Song
  - Stamping Dance
  - Alternating Thirds
  - Village Joke
  - Fourths
  - Major Seconds Broken and Together
  - Syncopation (3)
  - Studies in Double Notes
  - Perpetuum mobile
  - Whole-tone Scales
  - Unison
  - Bagpipe Music
  - Jack-in-the-Box
  - Appendix: Notes